Jacob 2-2, ‘Young Hostages’ mix

, 9 October 2013

Danny Brown, Herbie Hancock and the end credits of E.T. are but a few of the tunes that inspired Jacob 2-2‘s recently released album Herbivore, released on Canadian label King Deluxe. As an ode to the alien and the alienated kids locked away and at the mercy of their imaginations, that record draws heavily from the good ol’ days of educational TV and sci-fi film, where the slightly weird were banished to introspection and that’s where the magic happened.

Hence, this appropriately titled supplement Young Hostages mix and Jacob 2-2’s end note to all the other bedroom captives he’s worked with in the past: “A mix of music that helped inspire “Herbivore” as well as some tunes from my online producer pen pals who supported me throughout its creation.”

Listen and see the track listing below. **


Robot Romp (from “Flight of the Navigator”- Alan Silvestri
Ain’t No Stopping Us (from “Breakin'”) – Ollie & Jerry
Actual Proof (from “The Spook Who Sat By the Door”) – Herbie Hancock
Beautiful Body Language – Pogflipper
Element – Stephen Farris
Cyber Stream – Obey City
Glide Sail Float (Ft. Myrthe van de Weetering) – Julien Mier
Somehow, Someway (Madlib Remix) – Organized Konfusion
Dark City Lights (feat. Frank Nitty) – Quakers
What’s On – Dave Lawson
What It Is – Jan Hammer Group
Baby Ain’t No – Oh No
Mastered System – Elaquent
Grown Up (Infinite Potentials Remix) – Danny Brown
L.A. The Movie – Leo Bynum
Electronic Kites – George Fenton & Ken Freeman
Far From The Beaten Paths – Jean-Luc Ponty
Coronas – Joel Vandroogenbroeck
End Credits (from “E.T.”) – John Williams