King Deluxe

Alphabets Heaven – ‘Siamese Burn’ video

10 January 2014

There’s something about Canadian label King Deluxe and nostalgia, even if it is in its strange futurist form. If it isn’t their Jacob 2-2 release, with its fixation on 70s and 80s children’s programming, then it’s this dreamy animation by Netherlands-based motion graphic and interaction designer, Joren, that plays complement to Brighton-based producer Alphabets Heaven‘s reference to a childhood prank, ‘Siamese Burn’.

That’s one off the label’s free-to-download compilation, Year Three, featuring originals and remixes from the past twelve months by the likes of Disasterplan, Option Command and Aleph.

See the King Deluxe website for a full stream and free download of Year Three. **

  share news item

Jacob 2-2, ‘Young Hostages’ mix

9 October 2013

Danny Brown, Herbie Hancock and the end credits of E.T. are but a few of the tunes that inspired Jacob 2-2‘s recently released album Herbivore, released on Canadian label King Deluxe. As an ode to the alien and the alienated kids locked away and at the mercy of their imaginations, that record draws heavily from the good ol’ days of educational TV and sci-fi film, where the slightly weird were banished to introspection and that’s where the magic happened.

Hence, this appropriately titled supplement Young Hostages mix and Jacob 2-2’s end note to all the other bedroom captives he’s worked with in the past: “A mix of music that helped inspire “Herbivore” as well as some tunes from my online producer pen pals who supported me throughout its creation.”

Listen and see the track listing below. **


Robot Romp (from “Flight of the Navigator”- Alan Silvestri
Ain’t No Stopping Us (from “Breakin'”) – Ollie & Jerry
Actual Proof (from “The Spook Who Sat By the Door”) – Herbie Hancock
Beautiful Body Language – Pogflipper
Element – Stephen Farris
Cyber Stream – Obey City
Glide Sail Float (Ft. Myrthe van de Weetering) – Julien Mier
Somehow, Someway (Madlib Remix) – Organized Konfusion
Dark City Lights (feat. Frank Nitty) – Quakers
What’s On – Dave Lawson
What It Is – Jan Hammer Group
Baby Ain’t No – Oh No
Mastered System – Elaquent
Grown Up (Infinite Potentials Remix) – Danny Brown
L.A. The Movie – Leo Bynum
Electronic Kites – George Fenton & Ken Freeman
Far From The Beaten Paths – Jean-Luc Ponty
Coronas – Joel Vandroogenbroeck
End Credits (from “E.T.”) – John Williams

  share news item

King Deluxe – Year Two

10 December 2012

Canadian label & collective King Deluxe (home of  highly talented individuals such as Fancy Mike or the experimental R&B project EVY JANE) have survived another year in this extremely competitive world of independent labels and self-produced DIY projects. A second year they’re willing to celebrate with the release of a new birthday album, this year freely downloadable to everyone.

The net-label run by Peter Krahn in British Columbia has concentrated quite a unique list of artists from all around the world and while most of their releases are distributed for free, this past year we saw their first vinyl release and the digital distribution of some of their most popular artists.

Year 2 cover. Artwork by HR-FM
Year 2 cover. Artwork by HR-FM (clip animated by Henning M. Lederer) 

On top of this great compilation this past week we also got the official clip of Almandine’s catchy Fade Away, which also happens to be included in Year Two.


1. Option Command – 3000 Clones
2. Julien Mier – Glorious Pencil Drops
3. Aleph – Melt of Time (Limonious Remix)
4. Calvin Cardioid – Phoneline
5. Alphabets Heaven – Hands Up
6. Alphabets Heaven – Soul Dancing (Jacob 2-2 Remix)
7. Almandine – Fade Away
8. Alphabets Heaven – Darma (Kwala’s Headshotboyz Reremix)
9. Julien Mier – Glide, Sail, Float (Ft. Myrthe van de Weetering)(Kit Downes Remix)
10. Aleph – Messa (a-moll)


1. Fancy Mike – Actress
2. Muta – Movie Hour
3. Aleph – Omerta (22:22 Remix)
4. A Thousand Years – Bake Take (Mouch Remix)
5. A Thousand Years – Where I Wanna Be (Allmostt Remix)
6. Calvin Cardioid – Lullaby For A Nameless Creature (HISTIBE Remix)
7. Almandine – Fade Away (Das Robbie Remix)
8. A Thousand Years – Wheel of Fortune
9. Fancy Mike – Superman (S-2 Remix)

  share news item