Quantum Natives

Quantum Natives release free download of otherworldly ambient video game Cryptic Island Eco-Sanctuary

14 August 2020

Quantum Natives is releasing a free download video game of recent signee enchanted landsCryptic Island Eco-Sanctuary today on itch.io.

Cryptic Island Eco-Sanctuary (2020). Courtesy the label.
Cryptic Island Eco-Sanctuary (2020). Courtesy the label.

Described by the label as an ‘an ambient exploratory experience’, Cryptic Island Eco Sanctuary intertwines the serene and surreal. Talismans and anthropomorphized stones are nestled across the game’s misty landscapes, constituting subtle details of this otherworldly getaway suitable for experiencing amidst lockdown.

Quantum Natives’ otherworldly ambient video game Cryptic Island Eco Sanctuary is available for free download today

  share news item

Cclcng (fka Khonnor) finds resolve on the glitched breakbeats & anxious psychoacoustics of ‘In Promise’

23 April 2020

Cclcng is releasing album Niagara Falls on April 27via Quantum Natives, with preview track ‘In Promise’ premiering on AQNB today. This is the first full-length project from the artist formerly known as Khonnor. This latest album arrives almost 16 years after 2004’s Handwriting, a record where lo-fi shoegaze melds into broken-down indietronica beats.

On Niagara Falls, Cclcng excavates many of these same styles and ultimately repurposes them into a more eclectic psychoacoustic pallet. ‘In Promise’ darts immediately into unnerving MIDI-synth arpeggios and a variety of digitized vocal top-lines. Auto-tuned lyrics—“I said I’m losing my mind”—glaze over glitched IDM-break-beats reminiscent of bo en’s 2013 album pale machine. The hyper rhythmic chaos ensues as the artist proclaims this statement frequently within jumbled lyrical sequences. Suddenly, the track ends rather abruptly. Perhaps, it is within these accentuated states of anxiety where Cclcng finds their own sense of resolution.**

Cclcng’s Niagara Falls is out via Quantum Natives on April 27.

  share news item

Premiere: The international artists of Xquisite Nihil hack the system with their new seize the means of production compilation

5 June 2017

Butt of Marxist memes the internet over, “seize the means of production” is a phrase borrowed from one of Communism’s central tenets. It prescribes the working class and socialist revolutionaries to take back ownership of infrastructure, of the systems producing goods and capital. It’s an idea borne by Xquisite Nihil’s new compilation, titled after the maxim, out via London/URL-based label Quantum Natives and premiering today, June 5, on AQNB.

Berlin-based Oxhy, who shepherds the loose online collective of effervescent artists and producers, spoke to us last year about ‘security through obscurity’ – in essence, taking control of a system by way of ambiguity. seize the means of production comes across similarly, full of enigmatic characters seizing control in their own obscure fashions, each too faint for dominant systems to take hold of. Highlights include Oxhy’s six-minute slow-jam derived from Wayne Wonder’s 2003 single “No Letting Go,” and yves tumor’s take on pop rockers Paramore’s “Pressure,” which turns the 2005 emo classic into a cursive piano ballad. Elsewhere, callous, overdriven tracks like i.Ruuu’s “lindseysHAVOCin2armsOFaLessA-” and Blue Stork’s “splitterboo 0.00x late (DIVINE DRAGON LORD TIDAL REEV)” are countered by heartwarming tones on Be-ccareful’s “HEART HEAL SOON” and the elegant orchestration of Final Heal’s “Anna’s Journal,”

See the trailer video here, and stream the compilation premiere below.


  1. infested blandtress – which pret baguette are u?
  2. Uli K – Uli K
  3. ⁂♏ – Self-Eater
  4. i.Ruuu – lindseysHAVOCin2armsOFaLessA-
  5. Society of Imaginary Friends ft. Johnny Brown – Experience Freedom
  6. violette – lady manche
  7. Intentionally Cold – LAMBETH LENGS (VCL MIX)
  8. Be-ccareful – HEART HEAL SOON
  9. Blue Stork – splitterboo 0.00x late (DIVINE DRAGON LORD TIDAL REEV)
  10. dj save the nhs – screaming song
  11. emamouse – cut a particle phones quale
  12. Final Heal – Anna’s Journal
  13. terribilis – Alucarda
  14. GANX – Attachment Therapy
  15. yikii – zoom blur
  16. suduko solver – mesong_5
  17. oxhy – no holding back
  18. Zoom Spirit On – Attack on Dutton
  19. Wisdom – Jumbo (Underworld cover)
  20. Dj Slime Soccer – Third-Party Data
  21. yves tumor – Pressure (Subcutis Version)

Xquisite Nihil’s seize the means of production compilation is out via Quantum Natives on June 5, 2017.

  share news item