Mykki Blanco drops a video and announces EP.

24 April 2013

Finally, a solid date for the release of New York rapper Mykki Blanco‘s EP Betty Rubble: The Initiation, out on rising taste maker UNO, May 21. After wowing the world with the mind-blowing Cosmic Angel: Illuminati Prince/ss mix tape, the teen raptress will be taking it the next level with a slew of European and US tour dates and this District MTV collaboration for lead single ‘Feeling Special’, produced by Matrixxman.

With more wigs, plenty of machismo and a seedy red light just to make everything that little bit creepier, Blanco shows her developing skills in rap, while daring people to call it otherwise: “You can love it or hate it but this is HIP HOP.” Blanco will be playing Paris’s Vilette Sonique on May 26 and London’s Village Underground on June 10. See Facebook for more details and the track listing below. **

1. Angry Birds
2. Crisp Clean
3. Feeling Special
4. Bugged Out
5. The Initiation
6. David Blaine Bitches
7. Ace Bougie Chick
8. Vienna


  share news item

Gobby’s ‘Fashion Lady’ reviewed.

Gobby. Game Over.
9 April 2013

To be ‘gobby’ is to be loudmouthed and offensive. In the case of the Harlem-based producer of the same name, it’s certainly not in words that he accomplishes the desired effect of repulsing his audience, but through a wordless collision of house and techno, run through a combustion engine and thrust into an industrial blender of power noise. Preferring to let his production speak for itself, Gobby leaves the lyrics to UNO label-mate Mykki Blanco, for whom he contributed a couple of tracks on his Cosmic Angel mix tape, and the minimal delinquency of unruly textured beats pounding along his second album Fashion Lady, out April 16.


Continue reading Gobby’s ‘Fashion Lady’ reviewed.

  share news item