Co La

Maxmillion Dunbar – ‘Woo Daps’ mixtape

19 November 2013

Following the release of his sonically dense House of Woo LP, on RVNG Intl in February, emcee, musician and stylistic dilettante Andrew Field-Pickering, aka Maxmillion Dunbar dropped his ‘Woo Daps’ mix today, free to download from the RVNG Intl Bandcamp.

Featuring unheard mixes, edits and reinterpretations by fellow crate-digger Aaron Coyes of Peaking Lights and Baltimore producer Co La, among others, Field-Pickering still manages that idiosyncratic ebb that carry his diverse points of reference.

See the track list below and download the Woo Daps mix on RVNG Intl Bandcamp. **

01. Coins For The Canopy (Dolo Constellation Dub) + Kangaroo brass
02. For Mozy (OG Ambience) + spare drums
03. For Mozy (Original Electro version)
04. Inca Tags (Trumpet Sludge) + spare drums
05. Inca Tags (Remix feat. Peter Zummo, Co La, Sami Yenigun)
06. Calvin & Hobbes (ECM Mix)
07. Loving The Drift (Ttam Renat Remix)
08. Untitled I
09. Slave To The Vibe (Cathedral 808 Mix) + drum work
10. Untitled II
11. Kangaroo (Live Jam Mix w/ Protect-U, and Aaron Coyes from Peaking Lights)
12. Untitled III
  share news item

Co La – ‘Make It Slay’

3 June 2013

Baltimore producer Co La‘s latest release, Moody Coup, out on Daniel Lopatin’s Software label last month, is probably one of the most underrated of the year. And that’s not least because of the exquisitely constructed rag bag of sounds formed into a fascinating, slightly unsettling, collage of modern day music in ‘Make It Slay’.

It’s one that’s fragmented, optimised and manipulated into a reality that’s endlessly weird, which is why this video by film maker Andrew Strasser, who’s also worked with the likes of Girl Talk and Anamanguchi is such a perfect fit. It’s a nightmarish depiction of hyperreal computer effects where everything is just a bit off and things are not what they seem. See the video below. **

  share news item